Are you married? No, no, I’m not.

Scraping the Sky

“Are you married?”
“No.”

*hands me a red envelope*

Repeat about 10 times.

This is literally what happened when I returned to work after the Chinese New Year holiday. Married co-workers went around the office passing out red envelopes to the unmarried ones. This led to a lot of question-asking about my marital status. And this is heard throughout the office as others are asked and married co-workers tease the unmarried co-workers they should be married and passing them out next year. Never have people been more direct or at such a frequency asked my marital status. And no, I am not married. Thank you for the red envelope.

View original post 451 more words

We'd love to hear your thoughts

