Homecoming

South of Russia, North of Iran

Istanbul is a glorious city. There is stunning architecture, great food, tons of culture; it’s cosmopolitan and “authentic” (I hate this word, but can’t think of another one at the moment) at the same time. 

I had a lot of amazing moments there, the chief being my emotional visit to Sultanahmet Mosque. When I first started college I wanted to be a lawyer; I was hell-bent on going in, getting top grades, and going to some fancy law school. But then in my second semester I took a course about Islamic art and architecture. I needed to fulfill my creative arts requirement and it seemed like a good option on account of my Moroccan heritage. It was love at first sight. Not only was it a great class because of the structure, the reading, and the awesome lectures, but also because it went beyond the task of talking about art…

View original post 382 more words

We'd love to hear your thoughts

